QUALITY BRAKE AND MUFFLER 2005 LTD
(250) 656-7228
9820 FIFTH ST
SIDNEY, BC V8L2X3

Business Description:

Quality Brake and Muffler is your complete automotive service centre in Sidney, B.C. Whether its warranty approved maintenance or diagnostics and repair, Quality Brake and Muffler has been the serving Sidney and the Saanich Peninsula for over a decade. We at Quality Brake And Muffler service foreign and domestic automobiles in accordance with manufacturer and aftermarket warranty requirements. With the latest in technology and equipment we can take care of all your automotive needs.

We use only original equipment quality parts so we can backup all our service and repairs with a 12 month /20,000 km warranty. We also provide a scheduled maintenance program that is easy to understand and will prolong the life and value of your investment. At Quality Brake And Muffler we will always provide an estimate for approval before proceeding with any repair.
Average of 108 Reviews
4.8 Stars

106 out of 108
recommend us to
family and friends

Review Breakdown:
- 93 Five star reviews
- 12 Four star reviews
- 1 Three star reviews
- 1 Two star reviews
- 1 One star reviews
Featured Reviews

By Andrew F.
November 25th, 2018
Steve and the gang are friendly, neighborly in the oldest sense of the word, and knowledgeable. The costs are right on par with anywhere else on the south island. They always admit their shortcomings and make them right. They go the extra mile for example one day, after hours, Steve heard me dragging a piece of my vehicle down the road. He called me and had me in to fix things up the next day. It was the plastic covering under the engine not critical but very loud and potentially hazerdous. \r\nThe first time we met I had been to a series of garages chasing check engine lights, brought it Steve with his fancy iPad and at no cost to me after 2 or 3 hours under the hood I drove away astonished that good people like this still exist. He said you'll be back if your happy and right he was probably won't need to search for another shop again.\r\n\r\nThanks guys great job\r\n\r\nAndrew Finley

By Dennis D.
November 24th, 2018
Customer left a review at

By Luana M.
November 20th, 2018

By Stewart A.
November 19th, 2018
Excellent service, as usual.

By Joanne M.
November 18th, 2018

By Shiela P.
November 9th, 2018
Great service, as I am always behind and you always get me in and when I had a leak I went right in Thank ou

By Marlene M.
November 3rd, 2018
\r\nThey are extremely busy which tells me they get a lot of repeat business. That fact speaks volumes to me.\r\n\r\nQuality Brake & Muffler is efficient as well as having very fair prices. They go for the safe and effective fix not the expensive fix. Thanks!

By Dianna H.
November 1st, 2018

By Barb H.
October 24th, 2018
Customer left a review at

By Art F.
October 19th, 2018

By Dale P.
October 13th, 2018

By Craig R.
September 29th, 2018

By Julia K.
September 28th, 2018

By Mike T.
September 26th, 2018
Customer left a review at

By Glenn K.
September 16th, 2018
Customer left a review at

By Tara H.
September 13th, 2018
Steve and his crew are awesome they always take good care of us. We have been going to Quality for years and will keep going for years! Totally recommend this shop! Great service :)

By Pam S.
September 1st, 2018
Customer left a review at

By Britta N.
August 25th, 2018

By Philip G.
August 13th, 2018
Customer left a review at

By Maria V.
August 12th, 2018
Customer left a review at

By Les W.
July 31st, 2018

By Richard W.
July 26th, 2018

By Paul P.
July 23rd, 2018

By Anne L.
July 22nd, 2018
Why didn’t I start going there years ago? Exceptional everything. \r\n\r\nAnne Light\r\n

By Dan M.
July 6th, 2018
They know what they are doing and they get the job done no worries

By Mike L.
July 4th, 2018
The service was excellent as it always is and the staff is extremely friendly. Not to mention how good Steve looks bent over the front of a vehicle. 10/10 would do (again.)

By Carolyn L.
June 22nd, 2018
Excellent service. Very nice people to deal with. Fair pricing. Convenient location.

By Colin W.
June 22nd, 2018
Good service, and would rate higher if we had received a phone call letting us know it would take longer so we could change travel plans.

By Dave H.
June 10th, 2018
Customer left a review at

By Bill K.
June 10th, 2018
Quality Brake and Muffler has been looking after my Altima since my previous garage went through several changes of staff in a couple of years. QB&M just did an excellent brake job for me, on time and on budget. I also thought the price was very fair.

By Fred S.
June 8th, 2018

By Nancy M.
June 5th, 2018

By Susan L.
June 1st, 2018
I have trusted Stephen and his staff for many years. In fact I drive all the way from Victoria to Sidney to have my car serviced. I find the service friendly, competent and fast. I will continue to bring my car there for service.

By Sylvia L.
May 31st, 2018
Everything is well explained. Only work needed to be done is done. Honest.

By Sylvia L.
May 31st, 2018
We've been taking all our cars here for service for a number of years. Always satisfied.

By Sylvia L.
May 31st, 2018
Always feel that i can trust the service and the work and we love the reminders. A good place to go.

By Thomas K.
May 30th, 2018

By Carolyn M.
May 28th, 2018
Excellent experience at Quality Brake and Muffler. Stephen was welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. This is the first time I’ve taken my Rav 4 there for service and repair and I’ll definitely be back. Everything was done efficiently and explained clearly. They even arranged car rental right there! Thanks! See you next time.

By Scott W.
May 23rd, 2018

By David E.
May 22nd, 2018

By Richard T.
May 10th, 2018

By Margret P.
May 6th, 2018

By Richard P.
May 3rd, 2018
From the very first phone call I was so impressed how they knew the detailed maintenance schedule of my car before I even explained it to them. Fantastic service and we will definitely keep going back! Thank you Steve for being a breath of fresh air!

By Peter M.
April 29th, 2018

By Dave G.
April 28th, 2018
Customer left a review at

By Josie G.
March 11th, 2018
Customer left a review at

By Burt M.
March 8th, 2018
Excellent service as always !

By Joi S.
March 2nd, 2018
Customer left a review at

By Robert L.
February 16th, 2018

Feedback from Shop Owner:
I guess " absolutely no rush " means now?


By George S.
February 12th, 2018

By Allan R.
January 31st, 2018

By Barry D.
January 1st, 2018
Customer left a review at

By Patti L.
December 24th, 2017
Customer left a review at

By Marks M.
December 21st, 2017

By David O.
December 14th, 2017

By Shane B.
November 17th, 2017
Steve is an automotive technician I trust. He’s good at expaining what needs to be done and what doesn’t. He often keeps the replaced parts to show you what failed. Quality Auto has been my ‘go to’ team for more than ten years. I wouldn’t go anywhere else. S.

By Tony Q.
November 14th, 2017
As always excellent and prompt service Thanks Steve and the crew there

By Mary T.
October 26th, 2017

By Annie G.
October 13th, 2017

By Bridgette K.
September 22nd, 2017
Customer left a review at

By Gary M.
August 27th, 2017

By Bryan P.
August 25th, 2017
Customer left a review at

By John T.
August 15th, 2017
Customer left a review at

By Dave A.
July 24th, 2017

By Jim H.
June 29th, 2017
Customer left a review at

By Greg B.
May 15th, 2017
Friendly, knowledgeable and honest.

By Vicki D.
May 6th, 2017
The name says it all: this is a quality establishment. Stephen is our trusted automotive expert. He provides diligent, honest, competent, reliable, and humorous service. Lucky us to have stumbled into his domain. Thank you Stephen.

By Peter M.
May 5th, 2017
Fast,friendly service. Good communication. Thanks

By Claire S.
May 3rd, 2017

By Kevin H.
April 16th, 2017
Hi Steven Didn't get the follow up email with appointment confirmation for Friday 28th at 9am to fix the tail light issue. The temp work around works great - Thank You. I left a gleaming review on Google, btw :) Kevin 2502082909

By Jim C.
March 31st, 2017
Great service Very knowledgable staff Issues with vechile are handled the first time in No return visits needed

By Barry W.
March 30th, 2017
Steve always is a friendly face to see when you arrive at the shop. takes care to research any issues with our car , never need to take car back because it was not done right the first time. Quotes for repair are right on with no hidden extras I highly recommend Steve and the company.

By Brette L.
February 22nd, 2017

By George E.
August 15th, 2016
These gentlemen are great. For example, I had a long lasting issue with my Prius where I couldn't understand why gas consumption went higher than I remember. Since then I passed a few visits to dealer and KalTire to rotate my tires assuming they were doing re-balancing correctly. In result, it turned there was a crack in one of the struts, which required its replacement and after that was done, balancing completed successfully and now I am back to my 4.7l/100km. Kudos to Quality Brake and Muffler!

By Trish N.
August 8th, 2016
Sidney, BC Quality Brake and Muffler is the best place on the island to get your car fixed. Steve's honesty, dedication, excellent customer service and the talented team he works with are tremendous and a breath of fresh air in an industry that does not always have a good reputation. Keep up the excellent work! fyi - I have moved 40 minutes away but still will only take my car to them. They make you feel like part of the family! What more can you ask for?

By Richard R.
May 27th, 2016
I loved it!
All necessary work was done in a courteous, friendly, and efficient manner. Prices paid were competitive and as quoted. Would highly recommend Quality Brake & Muffler to friends and family. Having recently moved to Sidney from out-of-province .. I am happy to have found an excellent service provider for my auto repair needs.

By Raymond B.
April 14th, 2016
I loved it!

By David B.
April 3rd, 2016
It's great!

By Laura B.
March 23rd, 2016
It's great!

By Lisa W.
March 21st, 2016
Awesome Service
This shop always has Reasonable and fair prices. Steve has Excellent communication. He always completes the work in a Timely manner. They go above and beyond to make me happy with every repair and service. Thank you!!

By Ed S.
March 15th, 2016
I loved it!

By Isabell B.
March 15th, 2016
I loved it!

By Sharon W.
March 5th, 2016
It's great!

Feedback from Shop Owner:
Thank you, It was nice to meet you and its always pleasing to see our work making clients happy.


By Marlowe S.
February 5th, 2016
Regular Oil/Grease and Filter Service
Service was great and I always feel confident that Steve and his staff are thorough in their work. They do what needs to be done and recommend work that needs to be taken care of immediately or in the future.

By Glen M.
January 23rd, 2016
I loved it!

By Helen K.
December 27th, 2015
I loved it!

By Barb M.
June 6th, 2015
Great as usual
My service was great, rates are fair and I have recommended Quality Brake and Muffler to many of my friends. Thanks, Steve!

By Audrey W.
May 30th, 2015
Quality service as usual. Keep up the good work!
Always a pleasure doing business with you people as you seem to know your stuff! Keep up the good work and looking forward to the next visit!

By Terry T.
May 30th, 2015
I love it!
Excellent service with a friendly approach that takes care of your car and all the concerns one might have with it.

By Olina C.
March 8th, 2015
5 Star Rating

By Dean T.
February 12th, 2015
These guys kickass.
I've been going to Quality Auto for years now and it was recommended to me from 2 other people as a trustworthy shop. I've had nothing but good experiences with them; they always have made time to fit me in for service, even on short notice. They save me money where they see that I can, and take the time to explain what needs to be done and why. I trust these guys and they live up to the name.

By Dean T.
February 12th, 2015
5 Star Rating

By Sarah R.
August 24th, 2014
No complaints with work..customer service needs work
I went to quality to get my brakes and rotors and callipers done on my dodge caravan. I went in and asked for an estimate for these things and he wouldn't give me one he said not until they inspected it. I thought this was poor because I called other places and they just told me that I may need other things done but this is what the things I asked for would cost. Also when I called to see what was needed at noon that day he said I needed brakes rotors and callipers but had to wait till his order came in to get them, when I took the car in why couldn't the parts be ordered rather than waiting till half way throughout the day. He. Said that they where waiting in parts for 3-4hours! Then I couldn't pick up my car till after 5:30 pm because they where waiting so long ( I had to take my son somewhere at 5). I told them I would pick up my car the next day on my break, I come the next day and there is no one in the office. I flag down a mechanic and he tells me the that the manager has steped Out and will deal with me when he gets back. ( I am on my break from work) I ask them to call him because I am pressed for time and they as y that he has no phone! So I have to wait because no one in the whole place except the manager has passwords for the computer. After 10-15minute the manager gets back and says how's my day, I express my displeasure and the manager flippantly says well they can't have passwords because they would have access to my accounts (ever heard of password protected file...) he then prints my invoice and I pay and leave . Upon review of my invoice I note that the other brake information was left incomplete And the inspection note weren't there. Poor service gets no points with me defiantly wouldn't go somewhere that doesn't value my time, going back to my old mechanic

Feedback from Shop Owner:
We do not give prices on repairs over the phone, that is our policy. As for giving prices to the client we went over the worst case when vehicle was dropped off. We do not order parts assuming we need them as the could be restocking fees for returning parts not needed. We also are 37 km from the Victoria warehouse and it sometimes takes time to get parts delivered depending on driver location when parts ordered and traffic on highway. The client was offered a courtesy truck as replacement if needed and they stated they had other options. they did say they would pick up the car during their break around 10 but arrived to pick up at 9:15. I cannot comment on how long they waited but the manager was off site for about 10 mins . It is completely our fault for allowing this client to feel not served to our typical standard and we have had discussion on ways to prevent time related issue with current delivery service and what time bank deposits should be done, as for technicians having passwords and protected file, the file is password protected as the invoice system is the file and that cannot be changed. We take this as a great lesson and take it as great criticism that we will use to improve our service. Thanks.


By Dave W.
August 11th, 2014
5 Star Rating

By Neil M.
August 4th, 2014
5 Star Rating

By Mary-ann M.
July 21st, 2014
5 Star Review

By Glenna D.
July 18th, 2014
5 Star Rating

By Chris C.
July 17th, 2014
Thorough analysis
Stephen and his team did a great job analyzing my latest acquisition, a $300 Jeep. They showed me how I could make it into a very serviceable $4,000 Jeep, and helped me decide what were the important factors in weighing budget against safety and cosmetics. I now have an ugly but very functional $2,000 Jeep, and I am delighted with the outcome. Don't be fooled my the company name - "Brake and Muffler" is just a small part of what these guys can do, which encompasses pretty much everything except diesels.

By Greg B.
May 7th, 2014
My truck service.
Honest straight forward advice and service to match. I'm very pleased with the work and done on time as quoted. They also arranged a car rental so I wasn't stranded without transportation.This was my 3rd visit and I'll be back.

By Richard M.
April 19th, 2014
Excellent service from a very honest shop. Very professional people. Will definitely bring my business back.

By Brett M.
February 21st, 2014
Another great experience!!
Another great experience with my 2001 porsche 911 Turbo..Steve and his crew performed the out of province inspection and installed new tires all within the promised time frame..Thank a bunchBrett MadsenSidney, bc

By Neil M.
January 30th, 2014
Excellent srevice and attantion to detail

By Betty N.
September 9th, 2013
Excellent as always
I have had my cars serviced by Quality Brake and Muffler for a few years now and would not take them anywhere else. I have complete trust in the staff and always know my vehicle is in the best hands possible.

By Dave A.
June 6th, 2013
PERFECT IN EVERY WAY , AS USUAL !!!

By Ed S.
March 12th, 2013
Always treated very well
As always the service received was excellent. Clear explanations are always provided before and after work is done. Work is completed a timely manner. All necessary up coming repairs/maintenance is outlined on the invoice along with the next scheduled appointment.

By Mary-ann M.
March 8th, 2013
Oil change and tire repair -done quickly and done well! No complaints! Mary Ann Martin But I am still waiting for my front/rear brake detailed estimate.

By Brett M.
January 14th, 2013
honest
Stephen is great to deal with. Very honest and trustworthy.. The location is awesome. Right in the heart of Sidney.. Brett

By Dave A.
January 14th, 2013
perfect !! [ Steve that is ! ] so was the service and everything else . We do not know what we would do without Steve in Sidney !

Sort By: Rating
| Date
Showing
1 - 5